The Pulitzer

Pulitzer Prizes are awarded each year by Columbia University under a trust set up by the will of newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer.

The first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded in 1917. The Pulitzer recognizes distinguished achievement in journalism, literature, drama and music.

Journalism prizes are awarded in 14 categories for material appearing in a United States newspaper published daily, Sunday or at least once a week. Two runners up also are announced in each category.

The journalism categories are:

Anyone may recommend work for a Pulitzer Prize by writing to:
Pulitzer Prize Office, 702 Journalism, Columbia University, New York, New York, 10027.

Sources: World Book Encyclopedia and the St. Petersburg Times

Home Page | Pulitzer Prize | Broken Promises

©1995, Times Publishing Co., Email your comments to: Email Connections